At last a proper debate on the impact of boarding school.It had a big impact on some clients and on me #boardingschoolsyndrome #leadership

See @Joyschaverien’s #boardingschoolsyndrome reviewed by @Axrenton http://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/jun/08/boarding-school-syndrome-joy-schaverien-review … Her book is causing a stir. I look forward to reading it and when I have i will comment on it here. Meanwhile most clients who have been to boarding school respond to me in one of three ways, when I ask them about their experiences: 1. “Made me the man I am” – overlooking the obvious presumption; 2. “Why are you asking that question?” – i.e. a defensive response or, more often, 3 – a range from “Good to devastating”. I say you can’t take a child away from it’s parents without, at least,  some impact. The studies bear this out. Few would disagree that the experience wasn’t neutral. I’m more interested in the extent to which leaders who went to boarding school are still living out the decisions they took then to deal with a context which is in the past. Having spent six years in boarding school myself I know that the question is simple: where on the spectrum between the  bullies or the bullied did you sit? If you were a bully then and have not recanted you are likely to be a bully now. And so with the bullied and those keeping their heads down. All of this wouldn’t matter except that we need emotionally intelligent leaders. The good news is, that those who face the issue have a chance of addressing it. Ciaran

One thought on “At last a proper debate on the impact of boarding school.It had a big impact on some clients and on me #boardingschoolsyndrome #leadership

  1. As a mate, I love your style because you make people think. The lawyer in me hates the spelling mistakes though….

    Stay well Nick 44 7710 568803

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

